The change in slope designates a change in geology from the predominantly metamorphic rocks of the nearby mountains to the alluvial deposits of the plains.
The settlement lies adjacent to the mountain river L’argent Double which can be a torrent after rain but usually has a gentle and semi-continuous flow, sometime disappearing completely below a bouldery riverbed.
receives about 553 unique visitors and 1,106 (2.00 per visitor) page views per day which should earn about .00/day from advertising revenue. According to Alexa Traffic Rank is ranked number 759,401 in the world and 0.00021% of global Internet users visit it.
The castle remained in Royal possession after Eleanor's death and it was granted out to various wealthy tenants.
In the 14th century, the castle was occupied by many owners, amongst them was Edward, the Black Prince, from 1359-67.
Highest flows are usually recorded in February falling away throughout the dry months.
The name may derive from the ancient local Occitan word for cave, “cauna”, of which there are a number in the immediate area.
Oliver Cromwell sent letters to the castle, ordering it to be destroyed in July 1648 and threatened to imprison the townsfolk unless it was demolished.